2014 - Establishing of the Master programme 'Biomedical Engineering (MSc)'

2013 - Establishing of the part-time Master programme 'Electric Mobility' within the framework of 'Hochschulföderation SüdWest' (HfSW), a federation of Hochschule Aalen, Hochschule Esslingen, Hochschule Heilbronn, Hochschule Mannheim, and Hochschule Ravensburg

2009 - Establishing of the interdisciplinary programme 'Mechatronics' in cooperation with the Departments of Electrical Engineering, Computer Science, and Industrial Engineering

2008 - Establishing of the 'Biomedical Engineering' programme in cooperation with Heidelberg University and the Mannheim University Clinical Hospital

2006 - Awarding of the quality label 'Top10 International Master’s Degree Courses made in Germany'

2001 - Renaming into 'Department of Information Technology'

2000 - Establishing of the international Master programme 'Information Technology (MSc)'

1989 - Establishing of the focus area 'Data Technology', later named 'Computer Engineering', and renaming of the focus area ‘Transmission Technology’ into 'Telecommunications/Electronics'

1969 - Substantial role in the establishing of the Department of Computer Science

1968 - Creation of the 'Telecommunications Department' after the splitting up of the Department of Electrical Engineering


More than 700 students
in 5 courses of study

Of that, a total of
18% are female students, and
25% are foreign students

21 full-time professors

10 part-time lecturers
from industry

20 technical and
scientific staff members

Approx. 24
project staff members
in R&D

9 institutes


The Master in Information Technology is the only Master’s course in electrical engineering sciences nationwide to have been awarded the 'TOP10 International Master's Degree Courses made in Germany' quality label from the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD) and the Donors' Association for the Promotion of Science. Read more...